Pondering

In my solitude I ponder
The choices of Nations
The future of the land surrounding me
The well-being of Peoples’ known and unknown
What is the right way to go up
That advances many
Who am I to say
Other than being one who is surrounded by … Living within… the poverty and despair.
I know many of their names as they come to me with their wants needs and desires.                                                                                                    With hope in their eyes…                                                                                                                                                                                                        Empty bellies…                                                                                                                                                                                                                                Grim futures…                                                                                                                                                                                                                                     They look upon                                                                                                                                                                                                                           me with hope.
The heavy weight crushing my shoulders
Who am I that I can truly help…
Day upon day covered with dust                                                                                                                                                                                               seeking the shadows                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 I watch  I learn I listen
I try not to offer hope for I dare not say I can deliver
My skin tone brings them hope that I can solve their problems
I need a job
I need clothes
I am hungry
I need a home
My heart is weighed down my soul is empty
Hope feels lost
Empowerment must be found
A strength greater than ever before
L’ Union Fait La Force
must come to mean something for today
Not just a reminder of the strength of the past
Strength empowerment growth
Come not without pain
The stretching of those things
The pain caused by the stretch
In the end makes us stronger
In the end makes us better
Feel the pain and know it is good.

Leave a Reply

