I am Thankful for My Haitian Friends

Just now as I was preparing sweat potato pie for the oven I began to think about what I am thankful for.

I am so thankful for having met my Haitian friends three years ago. Meeting them has changed my life in so many ways. I now see the value of a dollar in a new way, understand how blessed I am to live in the United States, how to love with out boundaries. I am thankful that I have a wonderful Haitian family that accepts me as I am and loves to laugh and joke and cry with me. I am blessed and thankful to be learning from them the values that they hold and the skills that they have. I am ever so thankful to have heard Samuel say “my house is broken, but I have life” several days after the earth quake in January. I am thankful that none of my friends died in the earth quake and continue to be thankful that they haven’t been affected by the cholera.

I am thankful that Haitians in general are very resilient people who will over come all that is thrown at them; natural and man-made.

On this American Thanks Giving Day, my thoughts are on Haiti and how I would love to hug my friends and tell them how thankful I am for them!

Jazmean

 

Esaie on the bike of the Moto Herode is driving

 

Leave a Reply

