Samaritans Purse, Leveque, Haiti Location

Today we drove to Leveque Camp of Samaritans Purse. Micheline is working there as a nurse and Jon Gabin is volunteering there. It is quite the operation and I was impresses with how clean and organized things are. Many people have gardens around their homes. I had a chance to speak with the two American nurses that were working with Micheline for the next two weeks.

Edens left me with Jon Gabin as he went to make money driving people on his moto (motorcycle). Jon introduced me to two Haitian men; John and Micheal. They asked me what I do in Haiti.Micheal works for Samaritans Purse and John is his best friend. They repeatedly told me how impresses and happy they are that I live and work like the Haitians I am helping. He said he has worked with Americans since he was 16 yrs old (I guess he is about 20). He said they want to be driven in nice cars, see things and maybe do a little, but they never understand about how to really help Haiti because they don’t take the time to really understand. They set themselves above and they spend their money on their own comfort.

I chuckle as I write this memory. Sit on a rock hard bed in the same house as the Samaritans Purse houses. I haven’t seen plumbing since sunday late morning (6 days ago), my water is put through a purifications system. When I am not on the back of a moto, I use a tap tap. The food I am eating as I write, by the light of a flash light, I am thankful I can’t fully see. Because it doesn’t taste bad but the sight might kill the deal.  Last night I “showered” in fresh rain water, for we had a crazy a storm . The storm gave me an idea of what a hurricane might be like. I didn’t sleep well for the 2nd night in a row. This bed makes my back hurt really bad. I won’t tell anyone, though or they will want to spend money to get a new one. I can live with it tonight I have taken Advil PM and hope to sleep tonight.

Edens is in the mountains tonight playing soccer. Outside my “house” I hear Peter, Joseph, Herode and Mary Clare and maybe others; eating, laughing and talking. I am tired and don’t feel like joining them .

I am going to shut the light off now, it is attracting bugs that are trying to eat me alive!

Leave a Reply

